International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) for audite

Mar 21, 2013 | Sabine Wiedemann News International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) for audite

The International Classical Music Awards are the only independent international awards for classical music in the world. The jury consists exclusively out of professional critics for classical music from international media. This guarantees the high level and the independency of the ICMA. Both make the ICMA the most important international music award. Thus we feel particularly honored to receive these awards!

The ICMA Jury comprising 17 leading media from 13 countries selected 15 CD and DVD productions among a total of 275 nominations. The winning releases, far from being commercial mainstream, are a selection made without any national motive and therefore provide reliable guidance to the global audience. The ICMA also include six Special Awards paying respect to exceptional musicians and producers. "All these Awards are the expression of our jury's aim of making the difference between good and exceptional," said Remy Franck, President of the Jury.

On March 18th the winners received the ICMA Trophies during a festive award ceremony in the Auditorium Milano in Milan/Italy. Ludger Böckenhoff and Sabine Wiedemann accepted the award "Label of the Year" for audite. The statement of the jury accompanying this Special Award:

"For the past forty years Audite has been presenting new and historic recordings to discriminating music-lovers. Even in these difficult times the label has never compromised on quality and continues to issue long forgotten recordings in fine sound, as well as giving a chance to talented performers of today to explore a broad range of repertoire."

For Polychoral splendour (winner category Baroque/vocal) Johannes Strobl, Gebhard David and Frithjof Smith took part in the ceremony. The statement of the jury for this award:

"A marvelous recording reflecting the highly colorful, rich and vital spirituality of Venice in the 17th century. The title 'Polychoral Splendour' could not be better chosen for the committed performances by Cappella Murensis and Les Cornets. The surround sound recording is impressive indeed."

The ceremony was followed by a top-class Gala Concert with the participation of the ICMA winners, among them audite artists Les Cornets Noirs (Polychoral Splendour) and clarinetist Laura Ruiz Ferreres (Brahms: The Complete Chamber Music for Clarinet). Together with Orchestra LaVerdi conducted by its Principal Conductor John Axelrod she enchanted the audience with a convincing performance of Aaron Copland's Concerto for Clarinet. Through the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) the concert is available to radio stations all over the world.

The ICMA jury consists of professional music critics of important magazines, online services and radio stations: Andante (Turkey), Classic Radio (Finland), Crescendo (Belgium), Fono Forum (Germany), Gramofon (Hungary), IMZ (Austria), Kultura (Russia) MDR-Figaro (Germany), Musica (Italy), Musik & Theater (Switzerland), Orpheus Radio (Russia), Opera (UK), Pizzicato (Luxembourg), Radio 100,7 (Luxembourg), (France), Rondo Classic (Finland), and Scherzo (Spain).
You can find a complete winners'list and more information here.

Front picture from left to right: Sabine Wiedemann (audite), Ludger Böckenhoff (audite), Rémy Franck (ICMA, pizzicato), Photo credits: Martin Hoffmeister (ICMA)
all other pictures: pfoto credits Björn Woll (ICMA)
ICMA Jurors & Winners
Members of Les Cornets Noirs: Frithjof Smith, Gebhard David, Johannes Strobl
Laura Ruiz Ferreres